Successful finish in Baja Aragon

Successful finish in Baja Aragon

At the end of a difficult weekend, the crew of Buggyra Ultimate Dakar completed a successful weekend in Baja Aragon: Tomas Ourednicek and Pavel Vaculik finished 11th in Baja Aragon, just in front of winner of the 2001 Dakar, Jutta Kleinschmidt.

Fifth round of FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Rallies, Baja Aragon is traditionally the toughest among the European rounds of the series, both in terms of conditions and in terms of competition. This year all the top teams were represented, with not less than four former Dakar winners in the field, and altogether more than sixty cars took the start.

Tomas and Pavel completed their first ever race with South Racing’s Ford Ranger Dakar without any major mistakes, and despite having problems with the co-driver’s health and with getting stuck in other cars’ dust, they came very close to score a World Cup point in the event based in Teruel, Spain.

“The beginning of the stage was fantastic, but after about 30 kilometres we caught a slower car and it took some time to pass it. Unfortunately, then we caught Rui Sousa, and we travelled 120 kilometres in his dust, because he didn’t let us pass. Practically we completed three quarters of the rally in someone’s dust, but in the light of this, the result is not so bad. We just missed out on top 10, and having a look at the field, I think we can be proud, and without Pavel’s health problems on Saturday our position could have been even better. We are very satisfied and, more importantly, South Racing is also satisfied with our performance.

We are very proud to have been part of this very professional team and we’d like to say big thanks to all members for their work. We were very impressed by how professionally and dedicated everyone did their jobs and that everything ran like clockwork around the stable. I am also very happy for the result of my team mate, WRC star Xevi Pons, who finished 4th overall” Tomas Ourednicek shared his thoughts about Baja Aragon.

FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Rallies continues in three weeks with HunGarian Baja, a three-day event counting also towards Hungarian Championship with co-efficient 3.

1 Nasser Al-Attiyah – Matthieu Baumel (Toyota) 06:59:59
2 Carlos Sainz – Lucas Cruz (Peugeot) +00:00:19
3 Mikko Hirvonen – Michel Perin (Mini) +00:03:30
4 Xavier Pons – Sergio Lafuente (Ford) +00:09:57
5 Orlando Terranova – Tom Colsoul (Mini) +00:15:22
8 Fernando Alvarez – Pablo Monasterolo (Toyota) +00:50:11
11 Tomas Ourednicek – Pavel Vaculik (Ford) +00:56:30
12 Jutta Kleinschmidt – Pit Beier (CBRA) +00:58:22

Press release